Bonneval: NZ Horse of Year 2017 Winner

NZ Horse of the Year Awards 2017 

The Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards is New Zealand racing’s most elegant and distinguished occasion, a celebration of accomplishment and superiority where racing’s biggest stars gather. Made up of over 20 awards, culminating in the highly coveted ‘Thoroughbred Horse of Year Award’, this black-tie affair also includes top-notch entertainment, five-star cuisine, and delicious wines.

Now in its 26th year – the awards first took place in 1991 – the Thoroughbred Horse of Year Awards are held on an annual basis to celebrate the best in the business, both equine and human, over the previous racing season. Each winner receives a beautiful bronze trophy, handmade by internationally renowned master sculptor, Gerrard McCabe. Attendees begin the evening with the award ceremony and go on to boogie the night away, making this award ceremony the highlight of all New Zealand racing fans.

Bonneval: Horse of Year Award

Bonneval, the 4-year old Cambridge mare, took top-honours at the New Zealand Horse of Year Awards when she won Three Year Old of the Year, Stayer of the Year, and the most prestigious award of them all – Horse of the Year 2017. It had been a big weekend for Bonneval as the wins came just a day after she began her four-year-old career with a decisive Group II win over 1600 metres at Moonee Valley. She is now second favourite to win the Caulfield Cup and third favourite to win the Melbourne Cup, which will take place on October 21st and November 7th respectively, which will certainly set the horse racing betting sites ablaze!

The Horse of Year Award was even more prestigious as Bonneval is the first three-year-old filly to be named Horse of the Year since Sunline back in 1999 and as well as the fourth consecutive horse trained by Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman to win the Horse of Year award.

Accolades to Bonneval’s Trainers and Owners

Bonneval was a $150,000 yearling buy for owners Terry Jarvis, Alastair Lawrence, and John Rattray, and is unbeaten in four starts past 1600 metres. Not only were Bonneval’s owners presented with the New Zealand Bloodstock Filly of the Year award, but her trainers Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman won the Trainer of the Year Award, and Bonneval’s dam, Imposingly, was also named Broodmare of Year.

Full List of Winners

New Zealand Bloodstock Filly of the Year: Bonneval

Broodmare of the Year: Imposingly

Grosvenor Award, Dewar Stallion Trophy, Centaine Award: Savabeel

Jockey Premiership: Chris Johnson

Trainer Premiership: Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman

Owner Premiership: JML Bloodstock

Media Award: Trish Dunell

Champion Sprinter: Start Wondering

Champion Middle Distance Horse: Kawi

Champion Stayer: Bonneval

Champion Two Year Old: Melody Belle

Champion Three Year Old: Bonneval

Champion Jumper: Kick Back

NZ Strapper of the Year: Joanne Roylands

Apprentice Jockey Premiership: Sam Weatherley

Jockey of the Year: Chris Johnson

Jumps Jockey of the Year: Aaron Kuru

Trainer of the Year: Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman

Owner of the Year: JML Bloodstock

Breeder of the Year: Goodwood Stuf

NZTR Award for Outstanding Contribution to Racing: David Ellis

Horse of the Year 2017: Bonneval