Formula One Winners

The Quick History of Formula One Winners

With the invention of the wheel probably came the need for speed, and so fast forward a few thousand years and you get Formula One. F1 is the highest class of auto racing in the open wheeled class, and all cars need to conform to the rules that are called the formula. Though Grand Prix were around in the 1920s and 1930s, the foundation of the Federation Internationale de l’Automobiles standard rules in 1946 and the World Championship of Drivers in 1950 is where the F1 really begins.

The Grand Prix, which is the Formula One Championship season, are a series of races held in various locations across the Globe. The winner of these races are presented a trophy and the result of each race are combined to decide the annual championships.

Giuseppe Farina in an Alfa Romeo was a veteran racer and though he was quite accident prone, he still managed a victorious outcome to become the first ever Formula One World Champion in 1950. The current record holder for most Grand prix wins is the legendary Michael Schumacher with 91 wins, and second is Lewis Hamilton with 62 wins.

The top three F1 racers:

Number three: Michael Schumacher

With his perfect combination of natural talent and team work ethic become the number one winner statistically in F1.

His 91 wins make the German born Schumacher the number three on my list of greatest F1 racers.

Schumacher had an obvious need for speed but also was very talented at timing his actual bursts of speed to the precise moments to win. He was a dream for sports betting NZ fans too, as he always made for exciting racing.

Schumacher’s first two world championship wins in 1994 and 1995, gave him the status needed to move to Ferrari, where endless money helped boost his natural talent leading to him winning five consecutive Championships from 2000 to 2004.

This great racer does not really just rely on his top statistics; he was a great natural born racer.


7 World Championships

303 Grand prix starts

91 wins

Number two: Juan Manuel Fangio

The Argentinian ‘El maestro’ was already in his 40’s when he started winning his championships in the 1950s. His career lasted eight years, and he often seemed to win effortlessly, during what is considered the harshest and most brutal conditions in the history of formula One.

The legendary ‘El Maestro’ is considered to have one of the best grand prix dries of all time, in 1957. This comeback drive did prove difficult, he took on the Nurburgring, braking lap records and winning the German GP.

Juan Manuel Fangio goes down in F1 history as the legend to live up to, his pure grit and talent makes him well worth the reverence he gets to this day.


5 World Championships

51 Grand prix starts

24 wins

Number one: Ayrton Senna

This racing legend, who does not match Schumacher in winning stats but beats him and any other F1 contender with sheer self belief and natural raw talent. This charismatic Brazilian racer had such a need to test the boundaries of what was possible on the track; he was impressive from the start of his career to the end.

Ayrton was only 34 when his crash at Imola took his life in 1994, a great loss to the entire world, not just the F1 world.


3 World Championships

161 Grand prix starts

41 wins